Prepare for the worst

3… 2… 1…

Kittens, kittens, kittens.

Hold your breath.

What do you do before you squeeze the buttons allowing your pump infusion set to inject itself into your body?  Or feel the sting of the needle being pushed into your thigh when replacing your cgm sensor?  Or back in the good ol’ days I would use my BD Inject-Ease automatic injector and carefully load my syringe before plunging it into my stomach.

When I first made my way into the CGM world I tried out Medtronic and that one HARPOONS you.  I use to count to three and then pull it away.  It would take me easily two to three times before I finally “pulled the trigger”.  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReZX7rLi5D8   Watch at two minutes in and you’ll see some major harpooning.)

I now use a Dexcom g4 and it works like a charm.  Love it.  Sometimes there is a little pain but this morning as I pushed the needle into my upper thigh I was pleasantly surprised.  Didn’t sting.  Didn’t bleed.  Didn’t anything.  I didn’t feel a darn thing.  I taped it up, started the sensor, and was on my way.

Some days you prepare for the worst… out of habit, out of fear, out of previous experiences.  But when things go smoothly… do a little dance of victory.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

