DBlog Week: Change the World

Today’s prompt: Let’s kick off Diabetes Blog Week by talking about the diabetes causes and issues that really get us fired up. Are you passionate about 504 plans and school safety? Do diabetes misconceptions irk you? Do you fight for CGM coverage for Medicare patients, SDP funding, or test strip accuracy? Do you work hard at creating diabetes connections and bringing support? Whether or not you “formally” advocate for any cause, share the issues that are important to you.

* * * * *

What gets me fired up?  Besides a heated debate with my friend Steve who is a staunch Republican?  Hmmm….

For me I think one of my biggest issues is finding and promoting support for the adult type one community.  I know kids are cute and “sick kids” get people to donate money.  Like this one!  (I was pretty darn cute)

Image

But those cute kids turn into adults.  And then they get swept under the diabetes table.  We get labeled as Type 2 because many people don’t know any better.  Many adults are diagnosed with Type 1.  “But you’re not a kid so that’s not possible.”  Yes, yes it is.

If it weren’t for the DOC I don’t know where adult t1ds would turn to.  I started a group in Denver I aptly named, the “A-1 Team”.  It’s a group for all type ones age 21 and up.  We meet once a month, hang out, go to events together, bitch and moan

I want that everywhere.  Every town, every state, every country, to have a connection, a link, an option for type ones to meet with other diabetics.  We’re not all the same but we definitely go through some of the same issues.  Why doesn’t my insulin work while I’m sleeping?  Why does my insurance think testing twice a day is okay and won’t cover more strips?  How do your low blood sugars feel?  Does anyone else deal with retinopathy?  You get the picture.  I think it would be wonderful if the DOC world, was also tangible.  I would love to turn my small group into a non-profit and make it a reality in cities across the US and the across the world.  That’s what I want.  That’s what I want to change in the world.  That’s how I want to change the world.  A flesh and blood community for people to meet on a regular basis.  (Don’t get me wrong though, I L.O.V.E. the DOC)  That and I also want:
-Free insulin for everyone in the world that needs it
-A cure (not in ten years or twenty… now.  Stop “promising”)
-A choice in the coverage and management we want to use in our diabetes care
-Understanding not just from strangers but from friends and family who sadly, as much as you try to explain, still can’t quite grasp what I live/deal with on a daily basis.  And many don’t want to try to learn either.

I hope this is just the beginning of change and it happens for everyone posting today.

3 thoughts on “DBlog Week: Change the World

  1. I was diagnosed with T1 at 21 (9 days before my 22nd birthday) but the biggest response in my fundraising efforts for my walk this year came when I posted pictures of myself as an adorable (diabetes free) child – mostly sarcastically. Kinda sucks that it totally worked!

Leave a Reply

