DBlogWeek: Diabetes Life Hacks

Today’s prompt: Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes.  Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-screen (scroll to the bottom of this post). Please remember to give non-medical advice only! 

* * * * *

Hmmm… Most of my diabetes hacks have been blogged about before.  Here are some that pop into my mind that might have not been “hacked out” yet or are just a few things I do to keep my diabetes “in line”.

I am always trying to find new and creative ways to wear my pump when in a dress.  I think I will have to test out wrapping an Ace bandage around my pump and thigh to see if that will work.  Because clearly the pump garter I have does not work.  But I do want to try this homemade garter out.

Keeping an old infusion set in when inserting a new one.  In case the new one “doesn’t take” aka kinks or turns vampire, you can always hook yourself back up to your old one.  This is especially helpful when you are at work or on the go and don’t have the tools or time to switch the site again.  And once you do know your site is good to go, take the old one out.

Thankfully my Animas Ping has a protective lens cover on it.  Lord knows how many corners, doors, people I bang my pump into.  (My old Medtronic looked like it had gone through a war zone by the end of its life.)  And that got me thinking about my Dexcom.  I try to keep my receiver in a cute little case that is another hack, but sometimes I just throw it in a pocket or purse and forget about it.  With that being said, I decided to order a few extra covers and use one on my Dexcom.  They are exactly the same size and now I don’t worry (as much) about scratching the crap out of my beautiful screen.

And I hate glucose tabs.  I will do just about anything not to eat one.  So I keep a box of CapriSuns in the trunk of my car so that way I don’t have to touch the stash of glucose tabs I keep in the glove compartment and purse.

Guess that’s it for now.  There are TON of diabetes life hacks out there.  Check out Kerri at Six Until Me and the ever growing list of people who blogged today for oodles of d-life hacks.
One thought on “DBlogWeek: Diabetes Life Hacks

Leave a Reply

