Feeling High…  

And not in a good way.

First of all, hello!  Sorry I took such a long break.  Been super crazy.  I’m officiating a wedding in less than two weeks and then am a bridesmaid the following week.  Been helping plan both: making table decorations, venue walk throughs, hair and makeup trials, learn to bustle wedding dresses… you get the point.

Any way, the past few weeks I have been trying my damnedest not to have my blood sugars go above 170.  Let’s be honest… 140.  Hell, maybe even 120.  But that has me dipping below 70 more often than I would like.  And I’m starting to not feel the lows as I usually do.  Or when I do feel them, I’m already in the 40’s.  (And my new meter, via Omnipod, reads my sugars lower than normal and I’ve had one at 36 another at 29!  I didn’t know meters even read that low!)

But with the tighter control in my sugars, when on occasion I reach the green line on my Dexcom (170), I feel like $h!t.  Achy muscles, headache, all over crappy.  I feel like sugar is eating away at my body.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  Maybe other diabetics know the feeling I’m talking about and explain it in another way.  (I’d love to hear how!)  I use to get this feeling when I was around 220 or 250 but 150-170… no sir, I don’t like.

There’s no real ending to this post.  Just me bitching about side effects of being a diabetic.  The only way to really stop the sluggish high feeling from happening is to make sure I don’t peak over 150 (ummm good luck!) or loosening my control.  Well there’s a no win situation for ya.

One thought on “Feeling High…  

Leave a Reply

