Basal Rates

I understand changing your rates.  There are times when you do so more often.  You’re pregnant, on a new medication, exercise regiment is different.  What I don’t get is why all of a sudden I’m high around 2 am, then dropping to about 55 at 6am and then spiking back up into the 200’s by 10am.  And that’s without eating or taking any insulin.

Did my hormones all of a sudden go completely out of whack?  Is my body rebelling against me even more?  What the h-e-double hockey sticks is going on!?

It is beyond frustrating.  I’ve been doing everything you can to stay in control, especially overnight.  All I want is more than 4 hours of uninterrupted sleep without Roxy yelling at me. First it’s just a peep saying, “I’m high.”  Then it moves on to, “Pay Attention to Me!”  Then finally, “I SAID LOOK AT ME!

This happened to me a few months ago and I can’t figure out if this is a similar situation or if some new factor has reared its ugly head.  So after three nights of being pissed off I am changing my basal rates Again and hopefully I’ll have some success.

I imagine a Dexcom is kind of like having a baby.  But when a real baby wails you can’t throw it across the room, hide it under your pillow, or ignore until you’re finally back in range.

2

One thought on “Basal Rates

Leave a Reply

