Wordless Wednesday: Night of the Living Low

lowLast night I woke up to find I was severely low.  So low it just said LOW.  Yeah, one of “those” lows.  So I went to the kitchen and gulped down my 8 sips of orange juice.  Usually that picks me up and I’m good to go.  Apparently not last night.  As you can see I was low pretty much from about 1am until 7am with a teeny tiny peak around 4am of 80. So I kept eating.  Like a never ending circle, I kept eating.  Crasins were my go to snack.  I brought my Costco size bag to my bedroom, got back under the covers (it’s -2 here in Denver so there was no way I was staying in the cold longer than I had to) and I started watching Netflix to keep myself awake.  I ate handful after handful and watched four full episodes of Hart of Dixie. (I don’t know why I chose that show in my low induced fog but I did).  I was awake for easily four hours last night, shivering, low, eating an insane number of calories and carbs, and pissed off.

I don’t know how many carbs I ate.  I don’t know why I was low for such a long time.  But I do know I didn’t get enough sleep so before I go to bed tonight I am eating a peanut butter sandwich with a  glass of milk like I use to back in the good ole days.  That was my bedtime snack to help me sustain a stable blood sugar while I slept.  Who knows what it really did for me, my NPH middle of the night spike, and no Dexcom back then, but it seemed to work so I’m trying it again.

Leave a Reply

