It’s Like Riding a Pump

Errr… bike?

Have you ever switched back to your old pump?  For various reasons, well one really (I ran out of supplies waiting for the New Year), I decided to go back to my trusty Medtronic Paradigm 722.

I haven’t worn Gidget since… October of 2013?  And I have to tell you, going back was amazing.  I thought I might have trouble priming.  Figuring out how to insert the infusion set.  Or change the old basal rates to my current ones.  Nope.  I did it all at 6am, groggy with sleep, no coffee.   When I finally got up for the day around 8, Gidget was chugging, or clicking away, and my sugars were around 110.  What, what!?

I thought it would be a roller coaster of trial and error trying to figure out what I did wrong.  Did the insulin make it through the tubing?  Did I bend the cannula?  Is my carb ratio still the same?  After years of being turned off will all of the settings still be in there?  All was there, all worked out in my favor.  Neither one of us forgot.  It was like riding a bike.

So fret not my fellow pumpers.  The day when you need a backup pump that you haven’t used in years, it will be waiting for you, ready to jump into action.

One thought on “It’s Like Riding a Pump

  1. Yep, been there, done that. Although, I’ve used MedT most of my pumping years and the various gens really aren’t too different. So that’s more like riding a bike than maybe going to a different brand of pump. Hope it goes well on your end!

Leave a Reply

