Diabetes Blog Week Day 3: Clean it Out.

Today is the third day of Diabetes Blog Week, hosted by the amazing Karen at Bitter-Sweet.  Each day I will attempt to blog about the topic put forth to diabetics across the world.

Click for the Clean it Out – Wednesday 5/13 Link List.
Yesterday we kept stuff in, so today let’s clear stuff out.  What is in your diabetic closet that needs to be cleaned out?  This can be an actual physical belonging, or it can be something you’re mentally or emotionally hanging on to.  Why are you keeping it and why do you need to get rid of it?  (Thank you Rick of 
RA Diabetes for this topic suggestion.)

********************

Like most diabetics, I have a “Rapture, Doomsday, good God the zombies are attacking!” closet filled with diabetic supplies.  I have kept items well past their expiration date.  I think I may still have alcohol wipes from when I was first diagnosed 18 years ago.  You know, just in case I finally start wiping my finger each and every time I test?

My new infusion bin!
My new infusion bin!
Old sensors
Old sensors
Doubt what it is marked is what's inside.
Yes, I know it says “stripes” not strips

Every few months (usually when a new shipment arrives) I take everything out, rearrange, repack and reorganize the closet.  That doesn’t mean I get rid of anything.  I currently have two boxes of unused sensors for both my Medtronic and Dexcom.  (The Medtronic sensors are from 8 years ago!)

So with this post, I vow to finally get rid of the SoftSensors and its HARPOON.  If you don’t know what the harpoon is watch this around 4:30.  That damn harpoon is traumatic and it’s time to take it out Office Space style. 

That is my physical clean it out.

Mentally there is something I don’t necessarily need to get rid of, but more, get over.  A few years ago I rode my bike around Denver for hours.  Everything was fine.  I made it home fine, went to bed fine, went to the bathroom at 5am fine and then everything was not fine.  Somewhere between 5-8am I had a seizure or what I am assuming was one.  No one was around to see me shake but I couldn’t talk, move, do anything.  I kept passing in and out of conscience.  I thought maybe I had had a stroke.  It was beyond awful.  I won’t go into detail about it but that is an experience I never want to relive.  So in my rational thought process I assumed if I don’t ride my bike, I wouldn’t have another episode.  Well that’s probably straight up bullshit.   But it’s something I haven’t gotten over.  Cleaned out.

So again with this post, I vow to finally get out this summer, let it go and ride my bike again.

My sweet ass bike, a pink cruiser!)
My bitchin’  pink cruiser!

I think Freddy would be proud.

My favorite Zombie of all time… Bill Murray.
And my favorite Zombie of all time… Bill Murray.
One thought on “Diabetes Blog Week Day 3: Clean it Out.

Leave a Reply

