Stick to Your Own Field

I was at another kind of doctor appointment last week and we were talking about babies and the future.  I said I was still on the fence.  She told me, “Well if you want to you really need to sit down with us and your endocrinologist so we can make sure you are healthy and ready for it.”  I’ve read many a pregnant type 1 blogs, have personal friends who have had multiple children while a type 1, even read up on the matter myself.  I feel fairly informed.

I proceeded to tell her if I ever thought about having kids I would probably talk to my endo first and that my current a1c was a 6.5%.  She drew in a sharp breath and said, “That’s high!”  I whipped my head up and was like, “Bitch, say what!?”  No, I didn’t really say that but in MY most pissed off tone said, “I think that’s quite good and so does my doctor.  Most diabetics strive to be below 7%.”

Now if I were trying to become pregnant, sure I would aim to get my a1c lower.  But that’s me right now, with no CGM for more than 8 months, and me really not trying all that hard.  (I know, I know…)

So get your judgey judge non-diabetic doctor face out of my hoo-ha biznizz and let me deal with the “d”.  When I need to push a kid out, I may have to look elsewhere!

And in the past two weeks I am happy to have so many new babies in my life.  Welcome to the world Helena, Bennet and Kiera!

 

2 thoughts on “Stick to Your Own Field

  1. Damn RIGHT! “So get your judgey judge non-diabetic doctor face out of my hoo-ha biznizz and let me deal with the “d”.” I freaking love this line and hope to use it some day.

Leave a Reply

