DBlogWeek: My Favorite Things

Today’s Yesterday’s Diabetes Blog Week prompt: As we wrap up another Diabetes Blog Week, let’s share a few of our favorite things from the week. This can be anything from a #DBlogWeek post you loved, a fantastic new-to-you blog you found, a picture someone included in a post that spoke to you, or comment left on your blog that made you smile. Anything you liked is worth sharing!

* * * * *

This was my first Diabetes Blog Week and I think it was fairly successful.  There was only one day I didn’t post and that’s because I ended up working for 16 straight hours and driving across the state while everyone else in the car slept.  I started a post but haven’t had time to finish it.  I will though because I feel Wednesday’s topic was an important one, “What Brings Me Down”.

So let’s see.  What are a few of my favorite things? (Not the Sound of Music, that’s for sure)

Image

First of all, how inspiring was it to see dozens and dozens of bloggers participate in Diabetes Blog Week!?  All diabetics (Type 1, 2, 3, lada, gestational…) coming together and talking and sharing about our community.  On multiple occasions I would go over to the list of participants and randomly click on a link to see what they had to offer.  I read dozens of posts from familiar and new “faces” and enjoyed each one.  Thank you to everyone who joined this year!

I came across a beautiful work of art was seen over at Test Guess and Go.  I would love to get this picture in High Res and print it out.  I am currently collecting my empty insulin bottles and I hope to create something as beautiful as Laddie has.

I read a post about “What Brings Me Down” over at Death of a Pancreas.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to have a child with t1d.  I know I was one once, but I wasn’t all that young when I was diagnosed.  At age 12 I could handle myself pretty well.  Joanne writes an emotional blog about a rough week with her daughter’s diabetes.  From sticky highs to stubborn lows and everything in between.  And then the horrid words I think almost every diabetic has yelled at a parent, sibling, friend, spouse, partner, loved one…“But you DON’T know.  You’ll NEVER know.  You’re not the one with diabetes, I AM!”  I can’t imagine being that parent, sibling, friend, spouse, partner, loved one.  So thank you from all diabetics to all those who love us, diabetes and all.  We appreciate you no matter what we say, even in times where we feel so utterly alone. 

I have come to find that there are A LOT of diabetics named Scott and Kelly. Well maybe not a lot but their names kept popping us this week!
Scott E of Rolling in the D
Scott K. Johnson of Scott’s Diabetes
Scott Benner of Arden’s Day
Scott Strange of Scott Strange 
Rebecca Scott of The life behind a teenage diabetic   (last names count!)
Kelly Kunik of Diabetesaliciousness

Kelly of Kailana Mama
Kelly Renee of Designer Diabetes 

And a BIG THANK YOU to Karen Graffeo at Bitter-Sweet Diabetes for putting Diabetes Blog Week together for the fifth year.  I look forward to participating again next year!

One thought on “DBlogWeek: My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

