Political Ads Make Me Go Ugh

***I wrote this about two weeks before Election Day but hesitated to post due to the fact I am a journalist and am suppose to be biased. Now that the election is over I feel more comfortable posting.***

Colorado is known as a purple state. We are much divided. We love our guns. We love our pot. We love and then hate and then love gay marriage. (Just pass the damn bill and let it be!) And this year’s race for Governor, Senate, and Congress is in full swing…and so are the political ads. I work for a news station so I see ads probably more often than a normal person. And yes they are annoying, usually false, and when they use a statistic about their candidate that is over 4 years old, I dismiss it completely. (Find some new “dirt” or move on!) But there is one ad that is playing a lot and it’s about type one diabetes and stem cell research. What this mother says about diabetes and her daughter really grinds my gears. Watch it here.

The claims this mother makes are ridiculous. While they are technically true, if someone ever said them to me, I would slap them. “Nine times a day she checks her blood sugars to make sure she doesn’t have seizures. “ I know having seizures is something that can happen but aren’t you checking your sugars for more than that one reason? If that was your biggest worry then hell, go ahead and let her sugars run high. Maybe she’ll just go into DKA but hey, it’s not a seizure! And then, “I know a diabetic child has a shorter lifespan.” WHY WOULD YOU SAY THAT! I know it may be true that we don’t live until we’re 95 but that doesn’t mean we won’t have healthy, happy, long lives. It just sounds so terrible when you say that we’ll die young. Like we’re missing out on a wonderful life filled with happiness. I’d hate to have a mother like that and have her tell me I’m going to die before everyone else and that I could fall over and seize at a moment’s notice.

“Who is Mike Coffman to put his personal beliefs ahead of my child’s life?” Who are you to use your daughter’s disease to bully viewers and push your agenda!?

Alright, I’m done.  Just wanted to vent about it.

(These opinions are my own. I am not stating I am for or against Mike Coffman. I just know I am over this bullshit.)

2 thoughts on “Political Ads Make Me Go Ugh

  1. Channels got changed when political ads came on this year…except on the Spanish station because that seemed educational.

    Props to you for addressing this topic in a professional manner.

Leave a Reply

